God of Mystery

“Does it make sense to pray for guidance about the future if we are not obeying in the thing that lies before us today? How many momentous events in Scripture depended on one person’s seemingly small act of obedience! Rest assured: Do what God tells you to do now, and, depend upon it, you will be shown what to do next.”

– Elisabeth Elliot

What a great reminder! It can be so easy for me to get impatient with God because I feel like He isn’t answering my prayers about the future. But if I’m not even obeying Him in what He’s given me today, why should I be trusted with the things for tomorrow? I have been realizing more and more that God is a god of mystery. He likes revealing things as we need them, not as we think we need them. And often we think we need them long before we actually do. So when I am faithful in obeying what God has for me NOW, then He is faithful in revealing what I need for the next step. He isn’t usually the type to give away the ending… where would the fun in that be anyway? :)